Careers interview

I attended my second interview at the jobcentre yesterday with a careers adviser, having been referred by my benefits adviser. The meeting consisted of  a half hour interview which though interesting on one level, was of little use in helping me find work. I was asked why I’d been referred and when I told the adviser it was because people with partners claiming ESA are being called in, the response was ” we’ll just go through the motions then.” As you can imagine I began to think why are they wasting both their own and my time when they clearly have decided it will be of little use to me. The adviser had no access to programmes needed to help in my decisions about what I may like to do and so the only option was to conduct a personality test. This I did find quite interesting though I have a fairly good idea about my personality, after all I’ve had it a long time!!:) To be fair the result was fairly accurate but of limited value in my opinion.

I now have to go again next month in order to use the computer based careers programmes. What was the point of me attending an appointment when the right tools weren’t available to the advisor? It wasted my time as well as theirs. With every appointment I attend I become further convinced that it is an utter waste of time and of no value to me whatsoever. I was willing to attend these interviews in the hope that they would be of some help to me in finding work but if I wasn’t pessimistic about my prospects before I most certainly am now!!

Leave a Reply

